If You’re Having a Bad Day, Cheer Up Already!

8 Nov

No one likes having a bad day, but they happen to everyone from time-to-time. Yesterday (and well maybe Sunday too…) was one of those bad days in my world. My washing machine broke, I ripped my dress (twice) in a very noticeable way on the way to work, I fell off my diet bandwagon and felt like godzilla, and I could keep rambling with this stupidity, but I’ll stop there. I spent a good amount of time sulking, convinced that the universe hated me, until I finally just got sick of my own bad mood. I could either continue pouting like a flaming psycho or just surrender and let myself feel better. Thankfully I decided to behave like a sane individual and chose the latter.

You're not having a bad day, you're relaxing on a beach, (repeat).

Here’s some tips to help you cheer up when you’re just having a bad day:

Sulk a little. When you’re having a bad day, you need some time to pout it out. It’s okay to feel sorry for yourself for a while, just don’t do it for too long. There’s nothing more annoying than being upset and having someone tell you to get over it before you’ve had a chance to sort it out yourself. Don’t take too much time sorting though, no one likes a sad sack.

Read the news. I typically don’t spend much time reading the news, because I find it really depressing. If it’s not in the Page Six gossip column, I probably won’t find out about it. Well, a few minutes reading hard news yesterday was enough to snap me back into reality. My biggest “problem” of the day was having to wear a trench coat around the office to conceal the fact that half my dress had ripped open. Looking back, that’s actually pretty funny. Some people in the world have real problems, and taking a few minutes to read about those definitely put things into prospective for me.

Work it out. When I’m feeling super crazy, going to the gym always makes me feel better. A good hard workout is one of the best ways for me to cheer up and return to reality. And as an added bonus of sorts, the worse the day I’m having, the better the workout. Now, that’s something to smile about!

Phone a friend. Things always seem worse than they actually are when you keep your problems bottled up inside. Talking to a friend about whatever is it is that’s bothering you will definitely make you feel better. If you don’t want to discuss the details, you don’t have to, because simply being around a good friend will help to you to cheer up. For me, just spending a little time sitting on the couch watching tv with my boyfriend or having a lady date with my friends will always make me feel better if I’m having a bad day.

Don’t encourage bad behaviors. It’s weird how it works, but when something upsets us, we often keep going back for more. Don’t keep your bad day going by engaging in the very behavior that upset you in the first place. For example, if looking at pictures of your frenemy’s shiny new engagement ring on Facebook makes you depressed, stop doing it.

What's on your mind?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

