How to Sell on Craigslist Without Getting Creeped On

2 Jun

Follow the buddy system when selling on Craigslist.

My relationship with Craigslist is bittersweet. I admit I have successfully used the site to find a job, search for apartments, and read really funny ‘missed connections’ ads.  I’ve also made my share of money selling various treasures to ready and willing buyers. While I truly believe that the vast majority of people you encounter when selling things on Craigslist are harmless, the thought of the few that are not really freak me out.

How to Sell on Craigslist Like a Champion:

1.)    Meet the seller in a public place. For example, I once sold a wine rack to a nice man through his car window on my lunch hour at work.

2.)    Follow the buddy system if the item is too big to take to a public place to sell. Although this is not always the best idea, as one time my ‘safety buddy’ assured me it was a great idea to go on a date with a guy I sold a piece of furniture to…

3.)    Stop responding if the person sounds weird. If they ask you strange questions or just sound like a giant weirdo, tell them you already sold the item and move on. Honesty does not always win.

4.)    Use common sense. If the person so much as uses the phrase ‘wire you money’ they’re a scammer.  Really, who wires money?

2 Responses to “How to Sell on Craigslist Without Getting Creeped On”

  1. Emily June 2, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    I think I’m the guilty party of encouraging you to date the craigslist guy …

    • thejerp June 2, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

      Haha. Yes, I was being polite and identifying you as ‘safety buddy’

What's on your mind?

