Honesty is the Best Policy in Relationships

18 Jul

Some people tiptoe around their significant others. They pretend to like their friends, favorite restaurants, and must-watch television shows, simply because they’re afraid of the consequences of showing their true colors. If this sounds familiar, it’s time for you to make a change. Immediately.

You probably spend more time with your significant other than anyone else, especially if you live together. If you feel that you must pretend to be someone who you’re not around them, eventually it’s going to catch up with you. Repeat after me – honesty is the best policy.

This guy gets it - honesty is the best policy in relationships.

Sometimes people are taken aback by how blatantly honest I am with my boyfriend. If he does something, takes me somewhere, or makes me
hang out with people I don’t like, you better believe he’s going to hear from me about it. And vice versa, right back at me. Some people think this must be offensive; that one of us must constantly be licking our wounds from the other. In reality, the exact opposite is true.

Who wants to be with someone who agrees with everything you say? Relationships are about give and take, and honesty is always the best policy when it comes to getting there. If I don’t know when I’m obnoxiously torturing my boyfriend with my New Kids on the Block music videos, how am I going to know when it’s time to throw him a bone and sit through the latest insanely boring Leo DeCaprio man movie? If you don’t tell him that watching reruns of Seinfeld every night makes you want to throw up, he’s going to think you like it too, and eventually you’re going to grow a completely unjustified hatred of him for it.

So even though I believe in brutal honesty, it doesn’t mean that I refuse to do anything I don’t want to do. Since my boyfriend and I are candid
with one other, it makes it easier to keep the scorecard even. For example, on Sunday nights, if he’s willing to sit through an hour of Jerseyliscious, I’m more than happy to agree to watch an hour of True Blood, even though I think the show is dumb. This way, one of us isn’t driving the train and crushing the other’s soul in the process. Remember, honesty is the best policy. Being true to yourselves helps both of you to win.

What's on your mind?

