First Time Massage Tips

16 Aug

Read these massage tips if you're unsure of what to expect from your first experience.

I’ve always wanted to get a massage, but since I’ve never done it, I was nervous. Instead of doing the logical thing and just asking someone for first time massage tips, I kept putting it off until this past weekend. Yes, I finally mustered up the courage to get a massage and it was fabulous!

I’m not into the idea of anyone in the suburbs touching me, so I ventured back to the Massage Envy in Squirrel Hill. There are a few different Massage Envy locations in Pittsburgh, but I had already been to the one in Squirrel Hill one for a facial a few months back, and was impressed, so
I made my triumphant return.

I can’t speak for any of the other Massage Envy locations, as I’ve only ever been to the Squirrel Hill branch, but it is definitely nice. The rooms are super clean, they’re lit with a soothingly dim lighting, and relaxing classical music plays through the speakers.  I mean if you’re used to a high-end spa, you might not love it, as much as I do, but if you’re that fancy, you’re probably not reading this blog for massage recommendations…

I’ve always wanted to get a massage, but have been a bit intimidated, because I didn’t really know what to expect. Here’s some massage tips for all of you first-timers who want to know how the process works:

  • Strip at your own discretion. You don’t have to strip down if you don’t want to. The therapist leaves this up to you.
  • You choose where they touch you. They give you a questionnaire when you’re sitting in the waiting room where you check “yes — touch me” or “no— don’t touch me” in the boxes next to a number of specified areas.
  • You lay under a towel at all times during the massage.
  • You can leave your hair down and it still looks perfect after they’re done! (I don’t know why I was expecting my hair to be slopped up with massage oil afterwards, but that did not happen. Ohh the strange things I worry myself about…)
  • You can choose whether you want a male or female therapist (well at least at any of the Massage Envy locations you can. This probably varies according to each business.)

Fun Fact: The therapists can guess your work environment based on your “problem areas.” Apparently it was ragingly obvious that I spend 40 hours a week hunched over a computer in a cubicle.

What's on your mind?

