Buzz Off Retail Sales People

29 Sep

I know first-hand that jobs in retail are not fun. I worked my way through high school and college in retail sales clerk positions at various stores, so I always try to be extra polite and patient with these people, since I understand that their job is not fun. With that said, some retail sales clerks are just plain annoying.

I’m not the kind of person who wants help with anything, so when a retail sales clerk follows me around a store pestering me about what I’m looking for and offering up “helpful” suggestions about things I will just love, I want to smack them. No means no lady!

Since I’m wayyy cheap, I typically do most of my shopping in discount stores such as Marshall’s, TJ Maxx and Ross. It recently occurred to me that the other main reason (besides the sweet deals) that I love these stores is that they let you shop in peace! No one follows you around claiming to know your style better than you do, and offering up clothes that aren’t on your agenda to buy that day.

Note to stores – if you pay your retail sales clerks on commission, your customers can tell.

I was even recently in a store where a sales clerk approached me to say to point out that the bright orange ‘sale’ tags on select boxes of shoes were an indicator that the shoes were on sale. Really lady?  You just waisted 10 seconds of my life with that stupid statement.

It’s not that retail sales clerks are never helpful, because of course sometimes they are. Any normal customer has no problem responding to the obligatory, “can I help you find anything today” question. That’s fine and dandy, it’s good to know they’re there if we need them. It just gets irritating when after spending five minutes in a store, five different salespeople have approached you to offer their (unwanted) services.

What's on your mind?

