Healthy Dinner Recipes To Keep Your Wallet Fat & Your Waist Thin

6 Dec

Put your grocery bill on a diet so you can afford to buy lots of presents to put under your Christmas tree.

The countdown is on, Christmas is less than three weeks away, so if you’re anything like me, you’re probably a bit broke right now. My plan to save money for Christmas gifts throughout the year forgot to happen, then I went on vacation to Vegas two weeks ago and  failed to win any money, then I accidentally drove my car into a concrete wall last week. Womp, womp… But whatever, it happens right?  I am determined not to allow my poor planning and downright stupidity to prevail when buying Christmas gifts for my family, so I’m cutting back on costs everywhere I can, starting with my grocery bill.

I’ve been trying to figure out how to eat healthy on a budget since the beginning of time, and I usually fail at this. I always end up spending more money at the grocery store than planned, because healthy dinners don’t come cheap. Until now. After doing some research on healthy dinner recipes, I made a list of my favorites. I’m not sure which one I’m going to make for dinner next week, because they all look so good (and cheap, most importantly cheap)!

Eating healthy on a budget can be possible if you try these recipes:

1.) Baked Eggplant Sticks: Who knew cheap, healthy dinners could taste so good? I love, love, love eggplant! Not only is it healthy and tastes amazing, it’s also pretty cheap. One medium-sized eggplant costs approximately $4, and will feed you for days.

2.) Carmelized Onion, Red Pepper & Zucchini Frittata: Who says a frittata can only be eaten for breakfast? You can come up with a whole lot more cheap, healthy dinner ideas if you’re willing to eat eggs at night. To save even more money, swap the fresh veggies with frozen ones. You’ll still get all the nutrients, but will have some money leftover to afford some whole wheat toast to accompany your frittata.

3.) Vegetarian Chili: When you’re trying to figure out how to eat healthy on a budget, you can never go wrong with black beans. A can of these will cost you less than $1. If you’re trying to go easy on the carbs, cut out the corn.

4.) Middle Eastern Veggie Tacos: Don’t skip your veggies just because you’re trying to save money. Traditional beef and cheese tacos can be fat bombs, but not if you make them Middle Eastern style. Healthy dinners can be cheap too!

5.) Egyptian Edamame Stew: Whip up a healthy dinner, Egyptian style, for just a mere few dollars. This stew will keep you warm during the cold winter months, without adding a layer of blubber to your arse.

3 Responses to “Healthy Dinner Recipes To Keep Your Wallet Fat & Your Waist Thin”

  1. Liz December 7, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    This sounds great, thank you. Do you have any more nutritional information?
    – Liz
    thrift savings plan

    • thejerp December 7, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

      Hi Liz, Thanks for checking out this post! You can find more nutritional information by clicking the link of the recipe you’re interested in and it will take you to the site I found it on. I think the nutrition stats are on the bottom of each page.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nutritional Dinner Recipes | Healthy Eating | Free Tips and Information - December 24, 2011

    […] at this. I always end up spending more money at the grocery store than planned, because healthy Dinners don’t come cheap. Until now. After doing some research on healthy […]

What's on your mind?

