Motivating Yourself to Exercise on Vacation

12 Dec

For many people, working out on vacation is the last thing you want to do. You’re on vacation afterall, right?! But there’s that small percentage of us fitness freaks who actively seek out hotels with gyms, so we can still get our workout on when we’re supposed to be relaxing. We’re so used to working out 4-5+ times per week that we feel freakishly lost without our daily workouts. Make fun of us all you want, but there’s a lot worse problems to have than the desire to exercise on vacation.

Although I actively seek out hotels with gyms, admittedly I don’t always want to exercise on vacation. I get out of my normal routine and into one of a lazy cow. Then I start feeling like a gross, irritable, lackluster pig. I don’t need to exercise on vacation everyday, but I do need to workout every couple of days to feel like myself.

Don't let sleeping in that big, comfy hotel bed lure you into not getting any exercise on vacation.

Our our recent trip to Las Vegas, my boyfriend insisted that we visit the Mirage hotel gym, where we were staying. I liked the idea of it, but honestly I didn’t really want to go. I wanted to sleep in, then immediately go to our hotel breakfast buffet and gorge myself on unlimited champagne and other items I typically scoff at. Yes, I really am more fun on vacation! But there was no way I was going to let him step foot into that Mirage hotel gym without me. So I went with him, and it felt amazing! I feel sluggish when I don’t workout for a few days, and this really helped me get my energy back. It also helped me to feel better about my “vacation diet,” because I knew I worked some off those calories off.

So, if you’re a gym rat, make sure to search for hotels with gyms the next time you head out of town. Getting a good workout in, even if it’s just once every couple of days, will leave you feeling refreshed and more like yourself. Ignore the fatties who heckle you about making time to exercise on vacation, they’re just jealous.

2 Responses to “Motivating Yourself to Exercise on Vacation”

  1. Rob Schultz January 2, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    Working out on vacation is an absolute must for me. Though I hate the thought of it, the rest of my day is much more blissful and guilt-free if I get it out of the way first thing in the morning.

  2. thejerp January 2, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    I know, a good hotel gym is the best! We went to Philly this weekend & had the best gym in our hotel. Total win! Especially if you tend to eat like 4 dinners every night on vacation, not that I’ve ever done that… Haha.

What's on your mind?

