Get Started with a Morning Exercise Routine

14 Dec

The best time to work out is different for everyone. Personally, I like working out in the evening on weekdays, and enjoy late morning exercise on weekends. This might not be the case for you, as you’re more likely to actually do it if you figure out what the best time to work out is for you.

When I lived closer to the gym, I was all about morning exercise. This seems odd and inhumane to me now, but I used to get up in the middle of the night (okay, well 5am), before even the rooster was stirring, and drag myself to the gym. And the weirdest part about this is that I loved it!  I was all about getting my morning exercise multiple days per week. So even though I no longer have this enthusiasm for the pre-dawn workout routine, I do understand why some people enjoy it.

If working out in the evenings or at lunch time doesn’t fit into your schedule, you can motivate yourself to get into a morning exercise routine. It might take a little while to get used to, but once you’ve gotten into the groove, you’ll love it! Sometimes I miss the extra jolt of energy that you get from morning exercise. It’s such a nice feeling of satisfaction to know at 7am that you’re already finished with your workout routine for the day, and you won’t have to battle hoards of fellow gym goers for your favorite machines.

Tips to Get Started on a Morning Exercise Routine:

  • Lay your workout clothes out the night before. This will make it easier to get up, get dressed, and get going in the morning. Plus, if you decide to stand yourself up for your morning exercise date, you’ll feel so ashamed when you have to put your unworn clothes away, when you finally do get out of bed.
  • Psych Yourself Up: Get excited for your morning work out the night before! Consider how proud you’ll be that you actually got up before the crack of dawn to exercise. You’ll be filled with flowing energy and a glowing sense of accomplishment. But if you choose to laugh at your alarm and go back to sleep instead of working out, you’ll be doing the walk of shame all day.
  • Plan an Evening Activity: It’s really easy to look at the clock at 5am and decide to just workout in the evening, if you have the time to do so. Even when I loved morning exercise, I found it hard to get up that early if I knew I could just work out that night instead. So if you don’t have plans with others, think of a fun, relaxing activity that you could do that evening, if you don’t have to spending your time working out. This should help to motivate you to get up and at ’em bright and early!
  • Go to Bed Early: This may seem like an obvious one, but I’m including it because it is essential. You’re not going to have the energy to both finish your morning workout routine and function the rest of the day if you don’t get enough sleep the night before.

2 Responses to “Get Started with a Morning Exercise Routine”

  1. Rob Schultz January 2, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    Great article, Laura. Sadly, I haven’t been to the gym in almost 3 weeks… I decided to take some time off due to injuries. I’m interested, like so many others, in starting off the new year right by going to the gym, but in order to avoid the New Year Resolutionists, I’m going to be going in the mornings. This article hit home.

    • thejerp January 2, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

      Thanks Rob! Injuries? Oh no! Hope it’s nothing too serious? Mornings are the ultimate way to avoid those resolutioners, wish I still had the willpower to drag myself out of bed that early!

What's on your mind?

