Gym Enforced Time Limits on Cardio Workouts is Outrageous

16 Jan

Why do gyms think they can limit the length of your cardio workouts?

I’m sure I’m not the only one who has been greeted with a sign in their gym limiting the amount of time you’re allowed to spend on the cardio fitness equipment. There signs posted on the walls of my gym year-round stating their stupid rules regarding the length of my cardio workouts. This weekend though, I noticed the signs have increased. In addition to those permanently attached to the walls, there’s also one scrawled out on a markerboard easel in the middle of the cardio area.

Is my gym dictating the length of my cardio workouts for my own safety? No, of course not. They’re doing it because they sold way too many gym memberships, resulting in a daily mosh pit in the cardio equipment area. Instead of simply capping the number of gym memberships they sell, because our gym is so crowded it resembles a NYC subway at rush hour, it’s obviously a better idea to tell us how long we’re allowed to exercise. Remind me again, who is paying who for this gym membership? I know when I signed up for my gym membership, they never mentioned the time limit on cardio workouts.

The Mayo Clinic states that most people need a bare minimum of 150 minutes of cardio exercise per week, with some requiring up to 300 minutes per week. So if you’re a person who requires closer to 300 minutes, you would need to exercise 10 days per week on the 30 minute per day plan. You have 10 days in your week, right?

If you’re trying to lose weight, you need to burn 3,500 to get rid of each extra pound. This averages out to 500 calories per day. According to Glamour, an average 150 pound person burns 321.48 calories after 30 minutes of moderate exercise on the stair stepper, 232.18 on the elliptical machine, 250.04 on the exercise bike, and 357.2 on the treadmill. At this rate, if you’re only allowed 30 minutes on the cardio fitness equipment at your gym, you better be hitting up those machines seven days per week and living on stalks of dry lettuce.

This time restriction on cardio fitness equipment is taken about as seriously as jaywalking during most of the year, but now that we’re deep into the heart of new year’s resolutioner season, it’s getting more intense. Personally, I just reset the machine I’m on after about 25-30 minutes and continue on as long as I please. I encourage you all to do the same.

What's on your mind?

