Reader Inspiration: Week One

26 Jan

Last week I received an email from a reader looking for some healthy weight loss tips, and for someone to hold her accountable to reach her ideal weight. I gave her some advice to get started and she certainly has been busy!

Read on to see all of the impressive progress she’s made during week one:

Dear Laura,

I love your tips – thank you! I’m writing with the Week 1 report!

As it’s only the first week I don’t have much to report as far as results but I do think I’ve set myself up for some success. Below are some action items. What do you think? Suggestions? Tips? Changes? Red flags?

– I’ve found some easy and satisfying food to take to lunch and I stocked up! I’ve been taking a Boca or Morningstar burger to work along with some frozen veggies. I feel like I’m eating a ton but calorie-wise it’s turned out to be about 300 calories. It’s not fresh foods yet but frozen foods are at least better than ordering out… right? I’ve also started to regularly have a late afternoon snack – pudding or a small serving of chips (I know, I know). I think that’s helped me not go overeat at dinner.

– I’ve enlisted my dad to serve as an alarm clock. My snooze button gets a lot of work. I mean, a lot of work. When I go to sleep I have the best intentions of getting-up early to work out… only to justify staying in bed in the morning. Since my dad is an early riser, I’ve asked him to call me each morning on his way to work to force me to get up! (He’s enjoying this a little too much. “Alright, soldier, rise and shine.”)

– I ordered the P90 program. I haven’t tried it yet so I’ll withhold any comments about it. Eeek!

Thinking thin,
Fatty(ish)

Dear Fatty(ish),

I am SO proud of you! You have done an excellent job of getting yourself on the right track this week!

You made an excellent choice with the Boca or Morningstar burger and veggies for lunch. I actually used to bring those to work too, until I got scared off by my office’s nasty microwave. Isn’t it great to feel like you’re eating a lot, but then realize it’s only like 300 calories? That’s one of the fantastic things about eating healthy, you can actually eat more and still lose weight!

I’m also glad to hear that you’re eating a later afternoon snack, that’s helping you to not overeat at dinner. Don’t feel guilty about eating those chips! As long as you’re portioning out a reasonable amount, you can still eat them. It’s all about balance and portion control.

Finally, I LOVE that your dad is serving as your alarm clock. How cute! It sounds like he’s not going to let you get away with hitting the snooze button, instead of getting a morning P90 workout in. I’ve never done the P90 workout, but some of my co-workers have. I hear it’s challenging at first, but totally worth it! I know you can do it!

Looking forward to hearing how awesome you’re doing in next week’s progress report!

XO,
Laura

What's on your mind?

