My Tortured Love Affair with Yoga Class

5 Feb

I used to assume that yoga class was for people with strange acrobatic talents, who also enjoyed chanting. It never occurred to me that I would ever want to, or even be physically capable of attending one of these classes. Then one day I happened to be on the elliptical behind a yoga class that was going on at my gym. No one was chanting and the moves they were rocking appeared to be something that even I could handle. So I decided to attend my first yoga class.

As a severely uncoordinated person, I’ve never been a fan of group exercise, for obvious reasons. Much to the surprise of myself and everyone who knows me, I managed to do an adequate job of following along with everyone in my yoga class and quickly became hooked. For awhile I was attending yoga classes twice per week and was blissfully in love with my newfound, unexpected hobby. Then my love affair with yoga class started to dwindle.

First I started going to class only once per week, then more like once every other week, then I kind of “forgot” to go for a month. I know that doing different types of exercise is a good idea, so I finally forced myself back one night. I was hoping to reclaim that loving feeling with my yoga class, but instead I was more ehh about it. Here’s why:

Pros of Going to Yoga Classes

  • I get to tell everyone that I do yoga and sound super cool (c’mon, I’m not the only one who does this.)
  • It’s undeniably relaxing.
  • Doing different types of exercise is a nice change of pace, as I’m typically glued to either the elliptical or the stairstepper.

Cons of Going to Yoga Classes

  • No matter when I get to yoga class I always get stuck sitting behind a very large, flatulent middle-aged woman.
  • Class lasts for an hour, but I get really bored after 30 minutes.
  • One of the yoga teachers “corrects” us when we do something wrong, which equates to moderate lesbian action.

So, what do you think, should I retire my yoga mat for awhile or keep forcing myself to go to class?

5 Responses to “My Tortured Love Affair with Yoga Class”

  1. Lauren February 6, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    Retire the yoga mat if you don’t enjoy it and if you aren’t seeing results!! If you don’t enjoy it, but are seeing great results, I would probably continue it…

    • thejerp February 6, 2012 at 11:38 am #

      Done! All I needed was someone to say that. Haha.

      • Lauren February 6, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

        You should enjoy working out! I gave up on yoga after it hurt my wrist; plus, I never saw any results 😦

  2. Emily February 9, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    Come to hot yoga with me and Jillian on valentines day! It’s WAY better than la fitness yoga, no comparison. Plus it’s on v-day and they are supplying chocolate and guaranteed lesbian action!

    • thejerp February 9, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

      Can I just watch the lesbian action and eat chocolate on the sidelines? Haha.

What's on your mind?

