Low-Fat Healthy Recipes: Healthy Crab Cakes

20 Feb

Crab meat is naturally pretty healthy, making it easy to make low-fat crab cakes.

If you’re a seafood lover, you’ll probably agree that crab cakes are one of the best foods on the planet. They just are. The only bad thing about them is their nutrition stats. Regularly eating crab cakes will literally make you larger than life, as restaurants tend to sculpt them into delectable little fat balls. But it doesn’t have to be that way.

As a firm believer that you can find low-fat healthy recipes for anything, I decided to embark on a quest to figure out how to make low-fat crab cakes. My first attempt didn’t turn out so hot. My boyfriend is a smart man, so to this day he still won’t admit it, but my first batch of low-fat crab cakes tasted like cat food. Whatever, this isn’t that uncommon for foods that come out of my kitchen…

Anyways, that little low-fat crab cake flop was more than a year ago, so it’s basically expunged from my cooking record. Time to try it again! I decided to look through some more low-fat healthy recipes to make a new and improved batch of low-fat crab cakes for Valentine’s Day dinner this year. I actually didn’t have to look too far, as I’ve discovered Skinnytaste.com, since my last low-fat crab cake fiasco, and I’m obsessed with all of her low-fat healthy recipes. Seriously, I use this site as my cookbook, these recipes are the best, best, best ever!

I found a low-fat crab cake recipe on her site, and it was a-m-a-z-i-n-g! I followed her recipe completely, except I substituted plain Greek yogurt for mayo, as I have a life-long fear/hatred of that white stuff. The only downside is, I think I shocked my boyfriend into believing that I actually have culinary skills. Oops!

One of the best low-fat healthy recipes I've ever found, healthy crab cakes!

What's on your mind?

