Stay Healthy While Traveling By Working Out On the Road

2 Mar

Working out when you’re traveling — whether for business or pleasure — can be a pain. We try our best to stay healthy and fit at home, but when you’re traveling it’s often the last thing you want to do.

Personally, when I’m home, I’m fiercely dedicated to working out. Like a raging tiger, just try to get in my way!  Since I make it my personal mission to stay healthy by making fitness part of my normal routine, I actually feel awkward when I go more than a day without working out. That’s why I like to try to get some type of exercise in when I’m traveling, otherwise I’m left feeling like giant fat cow after a day or two.

Here’s some tips to incorporate working out into your schedule when traveling:

Derek working out in our NYC hotel room.

  • Working Out in Your Room: Put a mat in your suitcase and turn your hotel room into your own personal exercise studio! Now you really have no excuse to skip working out. If you’ve got your sweet workout moves memorized, good for you, if not, bust out your laptop and put on your favorite YouTube exercise video.
  • Early Morning Gym Visit: At home, I’m a fan of working out at night on weekdays, but I’ve found it doesn’t work this way when I’m traveling. I don’t think I’ve ever been to a hotel gym during the afternoon or evening hours, because I simply don’t end up working out if I don’t do it first thing in the morning. You don’t have to go outside, you don’t have to drive, all you have to do is put some gym clothes on and wander down to the hotel gym before breakfast, so do it already!

Traveling the city by foot has its benefits - I ran into the Today Show taping on my way to the conference I was attending!

  • Turn Your Feet Into a Taxi: If you’re in a city where you’re able to get around by foot, trot around to your destinations instead of driving, taxi-ing, or using public transportation. After all, as a visitor to this city that you’ve traveled to, it’s your duty to explore the area, and there’s no better way to do so than by foot! For example, I went to a conference in New York City last weekend. I didn’t really have a lot of downtime to visit the gym, or really even for working out in my hotel room, so I just walked to the conference (and pretty much everywhere else) while I was in town. The conference was a mile from my hotel, so I was able to burn some calories while walking through the coolest city on the planet. Who knew exercise could be so fun?!

Not only is walking around a new city good way to stay healthy and fit while traveling, it also helps you to see it a lot better!

 

What's on your mind?

