Ditching My Afternoon Caffeine Addiction

4 Mar

I love coffee, I really, really do. In my mind, a cup of coffee is the perfect accessory to well… anything. The benefits of coffee are endless – it gives you energy, warms you up, relaxes you, serves as an appetite suppressant, etc. Some might say I have a big of a caffeine addiction, and I might agree with that.

I’ve come to realize that slowly, but surely, I’ve gained a bit of a caffeine addiction throughout the years. My morning cup of coffee used to be enough to last me for the day, but recently I’ve found myself needing it in the afternoon as well. This is not good. Although my caffeine addiction is constantly whispering the countless benefits of coffee drinking in my ear, my rational mind tells me that there is such a thing as too much of it. Personally, I blame the Starbucks in the lobby of my building and all of my co-workers who are constantly toting around their afternoon cup of coffee for my midday caffeine addiction. Yep, that’s right, I’m blaming others for my problem. Why? Because it’s more fun that way.

While I have zero intentions of giving up my morning cup of coffee (or two, or really any amount of coffee I drink during the morning hours), I do want to kick my afternoon caffeine addiction. In reality, drinking a cup of coffee in the afternoon actually makes me feel kind of sluggish, which is definitely something a normal person doesn’t want to voluntarily do to themselves!

So, this week I’m going to start depriving myself of my afternoon cup of coffee. Ditching my midday caffeine addiction might make me cranky, irrational, display narcoleptic tendencies, and genuinely annoying to be around, but who cares, I don’t have to deal with myself!

More to come in a few days…

2 Responses to “Ditching My Afternoon Caffeine Addiction”

  1. Michael March 4, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    May I suggest you apply to join the afternoon Tea club….. It’s when all the hipsters go for tea…you know it makes sense – although you have to apply, we don’t just accept anyone….. 🙂

    • thejerp March 4, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      Well I’ve been fielding a lot of afternoon tea club offers, I’ll have to see what yours has to offer :).

What's on your mind?

