You Might Be Over-Exercising If…

19 Mar

My over-exercising might seem a bit more sane if I lived near the beach, or was at least planning to visit one sometime soon...

I’ve been working out like a psycho in anticipation of an upcoming vacation. Obviously this behavior is typical of someone going on a trip to a tropical paradise, but that’s not where I’m headed. Instead, my boyfriend and I are going to San Francisco and Napa next month, which aren’t exactly places that one wanders around half-naked. Actually, the average temperature in the San Francisco Bay Area is 64 degrees during the month of April. So yes, all my extra working out will hopefully make my abs look super awesome under jeans and a light sweater. Whatever…

Anyways, I love working out. Well that’s kind of a lie. I’m not going to put on some kind of ridiculous song and dance about how working out is my favorite pastime, because it’s not. What I really love is the feeling of satisfaction I get after a good workout. And lately I’ve been loving that feeling of satisfaction so much that I’ve maybe been over-exercising a tiny little bit. When I really get excited about something, it’s all or nothing. Yes, I’m kind of a lunatic.

Ever since I discovered Pilates last month, I’ve been out of control. A total over-exercising freak. Exercise as I knew if before only took place at the gym, but I can do Pilates videos at home. So obviously there’s no excuse to not do a couple of Pilates videos six or seven days a week, right? Free-for-all! Or not. Don’t do that. Bad idea.

Signs That You Might Be Over-Exercising

In my crazy mind experiencing sore muscles after working out is a badge of honor. The golden egg. Awesome. Sore muscles mean my workout routine is effectively kicking my arse, and even though that’s the point of it all, there is such a thing as overdoing it. It’s important to keep yourself in check and take a couple days off each week. Working out every single day will lead to nothing but causing you to become burnt out, tired and gimped up. You don’t want that.

  • You always have really sore muscles, but you’re not moonlighting as a cage fighter.
  • You’re getting enough sleep, but you’re still constantly feeling physically exhausted.
  • You know there was one day this month that you skipped working out, but you’re just not sure exactly when that was…

How to Stop Over-Exercising

  • At the beginning of each week, decide which days you’ll be working out and which ones you’ll rest up. Having a plan for when you’ll be working out and when you won’t will help to break your pattern of automatically heading to the gym everyday.
  • Make plans for the days you’re relaxing and not working out. Hang out with friends, or don’t, just keep your bony little arse away from the gym!
  • Eat healthy, so you’re not feeling fat and guilty. Of course you’re going to want to work out extra if you’re oinkng in fatty foods like there’s no tomorrow. You should be eating healthy anyway, so if you’re not already, now’s the time to start.
  • Enlist a friend to babysit you. If you go to the gym when you’re not supposed to, you must report your actions to this person. Their duty is to then slap some sense into you.
What's on your mind?

