My Tortured Love Affair with Reduced Fat Peanut Butter

28 Mar

I’m addicted to reduced fat peanut butter. Specifically, Jiff peanut butter. I definitely understand why choosy moms have been choosing it for decades.

It all started in college, when for the first time, I had a jar of reduced fat peanut butter all to myself. Read: My parents weren’t in my dorm room to stop me from eating it straight from the jar. This was a-m-a-z-i-n-g! I could have as much of this delicious, nutritional snack as I wanted, and no one would yell at me for fisting the jar. My world was filled with rainbows, puppies, and butterflies for awhile… then I got a bit fat. I had to face the terrible realization that my good “healthy” snack was at least partially to blame for my pants not fitting.

For awhile I opted to solve this problem by sleeping in my jeans and washing them less, you know to keep them nice and stretched out. Obviously, this did not serve as a permanent, long-term solution. I eventually had to stop keeping my precious reduced fat peanut butter in our apartment, because my love for it was out of control.

One of my roommates in college took this picture. Some might call it rock bottom, but I call it true love.

***Fast forward to 2012***

 I started buying my favorite Jiff peanut butter again a few years ago. My mom gave me a recipe for plain oatmeal, mixed with reduced fat peanut butter and cinnamon that sounded amazing. I was a bit leery to trust myself with an entire jar of it again, but assumed I was mature enough to handle it. For awhile it worked out quite well, as I would only eat it mixed in with oatmeal, or in the occasional peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Everytime I got the urge to freehandedly dig into the jar, I sent some visions of fat me dancing through my head. Not pretty.

Eventually my true fat colors presented themselves, and I started oinking it up again, a little at a time. Except this time I would use a measuring spoon, exactly 1 teaspoon (or half a serving), so I could keep track of how much I was eating. For a long time I managed to keep it at one serving a day, then slowly but surely I’d sneak more and more of it. I’d justify it to myself as just eating it as a nutritional snack, but there’s a fine line between eating a normal amount and going hog wild. And I crossed it. Faced with fears of a repeat situation of the above (pictured), I once again decided to take a break from reduced fat peanut butter.

I’m hoping by spending some time apart from my beloved Jiff peanut butter, that I will be able to gain a bit more self-control, shame, or whatever one needs to stop eating massive quantities of it straight from the jar. That probably won’t happen.

2 Responses to “My Tortured Love Affair with Reduced Fat Peanut Butter”

  1. Lauren March 28, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

    http://www.betternpeanutbutter.com/index.php

    Found at Trader Joe’s 🙂 I haven’t tried it because there isn’t a Trader Joe’s near me, but it might be worth a try!

    • thejerp March 28, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

      If I decide to let myself at it again, I’ll have to check it out!

What's on your mind?

