Keep Your Diet in Check With an Online Nutrition Calculator

13 Apr

Sure, you check the nutritional information on the labels of food that you buy at the store, but do you really know how much fat, calories, carbs, and etc. you’re eating each day? Probably not.

After realizing I’ve porked up a few pounds, I’ll try to lose weight through traditional methods like dragging my fat self to the gym an extra day or two a week, eating super healthy (even on the weekends), and drinking less wine. None of those things are particularly fun, but are of course a logical course of action when you’re trying to lose weight. That said, if you have no idea what your daily nutrition stats are — and what they should be — you might not get too far in your weight loss crusade. And when you’re making all of those healthy sacrifices but not losing weight, it’s discouraging!

That’s where an online nutrition calculator comes in. I use the DailyBurn, but there are also sites such as FitDay.com and The Daily Plate. All you do is enter in what you’ve eaten that day, and the nutrition calculator will show you how many calories, fat grams, carbs, protein, and etc. that you’ve consumed.

I haven’t used the other sites, but I know the DailyBurn asks a few questions when you create your profile to determine what your nutrition stats should be each day. So as you enter foods into the nutrition calculator, it will tell you if you’re below, right where you should be, or above the numbers needed to achieve break out your super hot leather pants (instead of busting the seams).

It's easy to track your nutrition stats on the DailyBurn.

Actually, the DailyBurn is what made me realize that I’m a raging carb monger. When I could see that I had eaten the majority of my daily carb allowance before lunch, I realized my carb love was a bit out of hand! Yowza!

Some people make entering food stats into the DailyBurn, FitDay.com, The Daily Plate, or other any other nutrition calculator part of their everyday routines. Personally, I only use it every so often to make sure my eating habits are still on track, but if you feel this is necessary for you to behave, then by all means have it at!

2 Responses to “Keep Your Diet in Check With an Online Nutrition Calculator”

  1. kissimmee car repair April 13, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    Thanks for the links, I was using my Wii to track my weight and progress but it dosn’t have a caculator in the program I have so I am going to give some of these links a try! 🙂

    • thejerp April 13, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

      That’s great – good luck!

What's on your mind?

