Tips For Eating Healthy on an Airplane

3 May

My boyfriend and I just got back from San Francisco late last night. I absolutely LOVE California, but traveling there from Pittsburgh is definitely a long flight. I think our total flight time, including a layover was about nine hours on the way there, and seven on the way back. Yowza!

Anyways, it’s inevitable that you’re going to get hungry (multiple times) when traveling that long of a distance. When I’m on vacation, I’m not as concerned with eating healthy as I am at home, but there’s no need to waste calories while sitting on an airplane. Save those for when you actually arrive at your dreamy destination!

Coming up with airplane-friendly healthy snack ideas isn’t as easy as it sounds. If you think about it, there’s a whole lot of healthy foods that are either considered a liquid by the TSA or need to be kept cold. I don’t know about you, but I have zero desire to take a cooler full of snacks for the plane as my carry-on bag. I mean really, I have much more important things use my carry-on for, like to hold my makeup and movies starring Donnie Wahlberg, to watch on the plane. Priorities people!

Anyways, although eating healthy on an airplane isn’t always the easiest thing, it is very possible if you put your mind to it. After you’ve made your list of snacks to bring on the plane, it’s also important to make sure you’ve created a good balance and don’t have too many things in one category. In other words, nuts are good for you, but high in fat, so don’t eat a pound of them. And granola bars are also good for you, but can be high in carbs, so don’t eat 10 of them. Got it?

image

Here’s some airplane-friendly healthy snack ideas to tide you over on your next flight:

  • Emerald 100 calorie packs of nuts (almonds and walnuts)
  • Apples
  • Popchips
  • Granola/protein bars
  • Low-fat popped popcorn (thanks Bess!)
  • Cut fruit
  • Grapefruit/oranges (peel them at home)
  • Oatmeal packets (ask the flight attendants for hot water)
  • 100 calories bags of Quakes
  • Low-fat peanut butter and sugar free jelly sandwich, on light-wheat bread

Got any more healthy snack ideas to take on an airplane? Send them my way!

What's on your mind?

