Getting Back Into Your Workout Schedule After Vacation

7 May

As I mentioned before, my boyfriend and I just got back from an awesome vacation to Northern California. We had five blissful days of fun sightseeing, tons of good wine, and of course crazy amounts of incredible food. Bliss! Of course while I was busy eating and drinking my way through Northern California, I wasn’t exactly concerned with maintaining my normal workout schedule or eating healthy. In my defense, it’s a lot easier to workout on vacations where you stay in the same place the entire time, such as spending a week at a beach resort. When you’ve only got one or two days in an area, you want to experience everything it has to offer, besides of course the inside of your hotel gym. Yes, as I’m typing this I realize that I sound like a big fatty, making excuses for not working out and eating whatever I want. Oopsie.

I climbed and down the streets of San Francisco’s swanky (and steep) Nob Hill area a few times. Does that count as exercise?

Anyways, after a few days of not really focusing on health and fitness I started to feel pretty sluggish. When you’re used to eating healthy and being on a certain workout schedule, it’s actually kind of hard to get off the wagon. I mean don’t get me wrong, that first stop at Del Taco in San Francisco was amazing, but I after a few days I just started to feel like a big fat slob. But whatever, I had fun.

Thankfully the day after we got home, I snapped right back into the health and fitness freak that I am. I had made some of my favorite breakfast and lunch foods ahead of time and frozen them, to ensure that I’d return to eating healthy again as soon as I stepped off the plane. Brilliant move, I suggest that you all do the same next time you travel!

Moral of the Story: Don’t ruin your vacation by insisting on eating healthy at every meal, but do your best to do so at least once or twice per day. For example, if you have the all-you-can eat pancakes at breakfast, have a salad at lunch. Balance it out. And instead of trying to maintain your normal workout schedule, adapt a little exercise into your sightseeing. When sightseeing, walk instead of driving or taking public transportation. Adapting health and fitness into your vacation plans doesn’t have to be a pain in the arse, if you do it creatively.

I wonder if I could’ve gone for a run in a wine field? Hmm, that probably would’ve been frowned upon…

What's on your mind?

