Back to the Burn – Making a Triumphant Return to Your Workout Routine

19 Jul

If you think keeping up with your normal workout plans can be a challenge, consider how difficult it can be to get back in the groove after a little (or not so little) hiatus from the gym. When you’re not keeping up with your normal workout routine, you tend to feel a bit sluggish, cranky, and pretty much like a giant bloated hog. And yes, when I say “you” I’m really talking about myself.

My boyfriend and I went on an a-m-a-z-i-n-g vacation to Southern California a couple of weeks ago. While we did come up with a bit of a vacation workout routine, I definitely didn’t keep up with my normal level of cardio workouts and ab workouts, or follow my usual super healthy diet. I’m fine with that, since I was on vacation, but of course that didn’t stop me from feeling like a big, fat oinker.

Trying to be a workout champion, I attempted to go make my triumphant return to the gym two hours after getting off the plane at home, but instead some first-rate loser backed into my car right in front of the gym. Epic fail. I then found myself pretty sore and without a rental car for a few days, which meant even more time away from my usual workout routine. Ugh!

A wrecked car can really put a wrench in your workout plans.

Even more days away from my usual workout plans definitely increased my level of cranky, but when I finally made it back to the gym a few days later, I was afraid my normal cardio workouts were going to kick my arse. Although I mentally envisioned my usual workout to be hot torture, it really wasn’t that bad. Just like riding a pony.

Get Your Workout Routine Groove Back with These Tips:

  • Be Gentle. Tailor your workout plans to your current abilities. Push yourself to do your best, but don’t over do it. If you torture too much yourself, you won’t want to go back tomorrow!
  • Don’t Get Discouraged. Your cardio workouts may have impressed even Bruce Jenner before your hiatus from exercising, but don’t expect yourself to be able to run six miles (or two) upon your first try at getting back into your workout routine. Remember, slow and steady wins the race.
  • Set New Goals. You can’t get inspired to get back in the game unless you’re working towards an awesome new goal. Plan a vacation, move to a nude ranch, or buy a skin-tight catsuit (or don’t too…), whatever rocks your boat.
What's on your mind?

