The Great Battle of Me vs. Jet Lag

23 Jul

Starting your vacation off with an early morning flight is awesome, dealing with a lack of sleep on your first day of vacation is not. For obvious reasons, when my boyfriend and I travel we typically want to get out of Pittsburgh as early as humanely possible, usually resulting in a flight departure between 6:30-7:30am. When it comes to needing proper amounts of rest to function and play nice, I’m a child. Lack of sleep makes me a cranky, disoriented pig.

As I don’t enjoy being an angry heifer, I do everything I can to avoid jet lag. Unfortunately none of my sleep-inducing methods have actually worked. No matter how hard I try, I end up having a really hard time falling asleep the night before a trip, never getting more than three or four hours of beauty slumber. Some of the ways I’ve tried to beat the system and avoid the inevitable lack of sleep that comes with getting up at three or four o’clock in the morning include:

  • Going to bed at 7:30pm.
  • Wearing a sleep mask.
  • Making myself get up at 5:45am and go to the gym before work, so I’m good and tired out by the end of the day.
  • Reading myself to sleep.
  • Blaming my lack of sleep on my boyfriend, and forcing him to pack his suitcase the night before. (Totally “rational” as folding clothes really makes a ton of noise. Or not…)

This sleep mask may not cure my jet lag, but at least I look  totally hot in it.

Our next big trip is to Chicago is in a few weeks, on a nice 7:30am flight, and I’m determined to not have to deal with a lack of sleep the entire first day that we’re exploring Lance Bass’s hometown in the blockbuster hit “On the Line.”

So since I can’t seem to figure out how to win the battle of me vs. jet lag, does anyone else have suggestions? How do you deal with a lack of sleep when you’re traveling?

2 Responses to “The Great Battle of Me vs. Jet Lag”

  1. Lucas Pinney October 8, 2012 at 4:17 am #

    Sleep masks can really help me and it also makes the quality of my sleep even better. i really love sleep masks. *.`,`

    Take a look at all of the most up to date post on our own blog
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/stress-rash/

  2. Tracey Wanner November 19, 2012 at 1:56 am #

    Sleep masks do help in getting a better quality of sleep to prevent those annoying bright lights. ,

    Our blog
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/wheatgrass-facts-for-your-health/

What's on your mind?

