Healthy Eating — Try My Delicious Orzo Recipe!

2 Aug

Healthy eating is easy with this orzo recipe!

I like to make healthy recipes that other people come up with, but I’m not exactly known for having any culinary genius of my own. In fact, until the other day it never even occurred to me that I could attempt at coming up with my own healthy recipes. 

I found myself in a dilemma this past Sunday, as on the way to our weekly farmer’s market trip, my boyfriend and I decided to have one of our little healthy eating Sunday night cookouts for two. The only side dish food I had in the pantry was orzo, but I didn’t have a chance to look up orzo recipes before we left. The day before I had this great orzo side dish at a restaurant, and I sort of wanted to somewhat recreate it. But like really, HOW DOES ONE KNOW WHAT INGREDIENTS TO BUY WITHOUT CONSULTING THE INTERNET? Seriously. I tried to look up some healthy recipes with orzo on my phone, but only found a couple of the same olds that I’ve made quite a lot of times.

So, in the spirit of healthy eating I decided to get crafty and come up with my own recipe! Don’t lie, I know you’re impressed. It took some deep thinking, but I was able to come up with a few veggies to put in my shopping basket to make my very own orzo recipe. And here it is:

The Jerp’s Orzo Recipe

  • Ingredients:
    • 1 cup orzo (or less if you don’t want a whole ton)
    • 1 half diced cucumber
    • 1 half diced pepper
    • 1/4 diced red onion
    • a few slices of fresh lemon
    • splash of balsamic vinegar
    • water (apparently orzo sticks together!?!)

Making my orzo recipe isn’t rocket science. Cook the orzo. When it’s done, put it in a pan with the veggies. Add the water when it starts clumping together. When everything appears cooked, pour the mixture into a bowl. Squeeze a couple of pieces of a cut-up lemon over it. Stir. Pour the splash of balsamic vinegar over it. Stir. Voila! Serve hot or cold, both taste equally awesome.

One Response to “Healthy Eating — Try My Delicious Orzo Recipe!”

  1. Lauren August 2, 2012 at 8:53 am #

    That sounds delicious! I make a similar “recipe” with quinoa, and put it whatever I have around the house (usually chick peas, cucumbers, tomatos, feta, balsamic vinegar).

What's on your mind?

