Try This Healthy Birthday Cake Recipe

13 Aug

Last Thursday was my 28th birthday. I know holidays and special occasions, such as birthdays, are a legit excuse to skip the healthy dinner and whip up a super high-fat birthday cake recipe, but I don’t typically subscribe to that. For the past few years I’ve been skipping the birthday splurges, and instead choosing healthy options that don’t leave me a year older with a food hangover the next day. Don’t get the idea that I’m opposed to fatty splurges though, because I’m so so not.

Birthday flowers!

I wanted a healthy dinner for my birthday, so I chose Aladdin’s Eatery, one of my favorite restaurants. Pretty much everything on the Middle Eastern menu is both healthy and amazingly delicious. Obviously my birthday dinner was a complete success, as I was able to stuff my face with delightful foods like baba, hummus, and tabouli, and I could still fit in my pants the next day. What’s not to love about that?

After our healthy dinner at Aladdin’s we headed back to my parents’ house for cake and presents. In order to please the birthday girl, my mom whipped up her healthy birthday cake recipe, so I would well just shut up about calories and eat cake. And that I did!

Check out my healthy birthday cake!

Try My Mom’s Healthy Birthday Cake Recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 Angel Food Cake (make it, buy it from the bakery, whatever rocks your socks)
  • 1 Container of Cool Whip
  • A Bunch of Cut Fruit (we typically use strawberries and blueberries, but I’m sure pineapples, kiwis, mangoes, raspberries, and etc. would work great too)

Ice the cake with the cool whip, then decorate it with fruit. Nice and easy!

What's on your mind?

