I Get Knocked Down, But I Get Up Again…

5 Nov

Did any other 90’s lovers else catch my witty reference to Chumbawamba’s one hit song, “Tubthumping?”

Anyways, in a desperate attempt to enjoy Pittsburgh’s Indian summer last week, I decided to take my workout plans outdoors and go for a jog around my neighborhood. When I left my house it was light out. Ten minutes later it was dark. One minute later I fell from a graceful swan-like sprint down to rolling around on the pavement. OUCH!

By the time I schlepped myself home, I had some pretty impressive battle wounds to show off to my fiancee. Thankfully he’s a really nice guy and cleaned my gory mess up, which by this time had dripped down to my tennis shoes. If you’re wondering, yes, it stained, and I’m still wearing the blood-splattered tennis shoes, but I swear it looks like mud. I’m classy like that.

I limped around for one day, but during that one day I ate a lot. Then the next day, I really wanted to get takeout from my favorite Thai restaurant, but couldn’t bare to do so without getting in a workout first. So I bandaged up my wounds (which were by now oozing…yum) and forced myself to go to the gym. I was at least wise enough to take it easy and stick to the stairstepper, so for those of you thinking I’m an idiot for this one, bite me.

After having proof that I could workout with bandaged open wounds, I couldn’t resist returning to the gym the next day. I had very good intentions of taking it easy again, but really, I just didn’t want to. So I changed my workout plans and spent 10 minutes on the rowing machine and then proceeded to run a one woman 5k on the treadmill. Oops.

For some reason my stupid battle wounds till hadn’t healed by day three, or four, or actually now as I’m writing this I’ve gone to the gym five straight days and my arm and leg are still making grown men at work flinch, but whatever, I do what I want.

Moral of the Story: Obviously, if you’re really, sincerely injured you should not workout and risk hurting yourself even more. However, if sticks and stones haven’t broken your bones, don’t cancel your workout plans over a measly bruise (or an oozing, yet easily coverable scraped knee and elbow).

What's on your mind?

