Getting Back on the Workout Pony

3 Dec

Like any finely honed skill, it takes dedication to get fit and stay that way. So when you don’t work out for days, a week, or an even greater period of time you’re going to get rusty. And that’s exactly the story of my life at the moment.

As I previously shared with you, I recently had a delicious case of shingles on my back and because of this I was unable to go to the gym for a little over a week. This is no good both when the gym is your favorite hobby and you’re getting married in two months. I got back to the gym ASAP after that little road block, but I’m not gonna lie, I got a bit rusty during my siesta. During that week I was working out like crazy, but still not quite back to the stealth workout pony I was before my sweet rash-induced break.

After that I had yet another week of spotty attendance at the gym, due to an uncharacteristically busy (but really fun) week. So a few days ago I found myself making my second triumphant return to the gym in month. And oh boy, if I thought it was hard to get back on the horse after one siesta, I should’ve fast-forwarded to what it’d feel like after my second work out gap. It wasn’t pretty. Although it would’ve been easy to give up after 10 minutes, which is approximately when I started gasping for air, sweating like a pig, and turning red like a hot tamale, I did not.

Follow these tips to crawl out of the fat wagon after a workout slump:

  • Take it Easy: When you’ve taken a hiatus from working out, you have to accept the fact that you’re probably not going to be able to pull out your best performance on your first trip, or two back to the gym. You had to work hard to get fit the first time around, so obviously you’re not going to be in peak shape for your first workout back. So go a little easy and don’t push yourself to match your best workout ever.
  • …But Not Too Easy: With that said, you also shouldn’t surrender to the exercise bike after ten rough minutes on the treadmill. Understand what I’m saying?
  • Don’t Stop Believin’: It doesn’t take a true gym rat very long to bounce back into their normal routine. Get through those first few days of getting back on the horse and it will be smooth sailing after that! You’ll get fit again before you know it!

What's on your mind?

