Trying to Lose Weight After a Wonderfully Fattening Honeymoon

4 Feb
If people give you honeymoon champagne, it's not polite to say "No thanks, it's only noon."

If people give you honeymoon champagne, it’s not polite to say “No thanks, it’s only noon.”

There are few times in life that I consider it acceptable to gain weight and my honeymoon is one of them! My husband and I just returned from eight glorious days in England. Don’t listen to any stupid rumors you hear about England being filled with bad food and unfriendly people — all lies! The food in England is ahh-mazing and the people are among the nicest group I’ve ever met.

We ate black pudding (I didn’t know what this was until we returned to the US. Yikes.) in the mornings, stuffed ourselves with afternoon tea sandwiches and biscuits in the afternoon, and spent the evenings plying ourselves with wine and one meaty dish after another. Besides the British goodness, they also have a superb representation of food from other ethnic cultures like Italian, Indian, and Mediterranean that we also dug our fat paws right into.

Yep, we couldn't even wait to take a picture before oinking this one down.

Yep, we couldn’t even wait to take a picture before oinking this one down.

Even though we did practice some self-restraint in the form of a few much-needed trips to the gym, it was no shocker that I came back to the US five pounds heavier than when we departed. Oh boy.

As one to never take gaining weight lightly, I resumed my normal diet of healthy eating the day we returned to Pittsburgh and practically jumped on the treadmill before getting off the plane.

Truth be told, I actually didn’t even weigh myself at all until about three days after our return when I didn’t feel like going to the gym and needed to shame myself into it. Well that plan worked.

I place a lot of blame on afternoon tea snacks for making me a fat American.

I place a lot of blame on afternoon tea snacks for making me a fat American.

I don’t regret eating my way through England with my husband, and I’m sure the same thing will happen the next time we go abroad, but I certainly can’t wait to lose weight! I know five extra pounds isn’t a lot, but it’s more than enough for me.

So how long do you think it will take me to lose my five extra honeymoon pounds?

One Response to “Trying to Lose Weight After a Wonderfully Fattening Honeymoon”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Counting Calories Made Easy | thejerp - March 11, 2013

    […] into, but simply a short-term activity. As previously mentioned, I gained about five pounds on my British honeymoon. I’m fine with this. If there’s ever a time for a temporary weight gain, honeymoons and […]

What's on your mind?

