Finding Your Winter Workout Motivation

11 Feb
Keeping workout plans can be difficult when it looks like this outside your front door.

Keeping workout plans can be difficult when it looks like this outside your front door.

Workout motivation can be really hard to come by during the winter months. Especially if you live in one of the northern states like I do. So far this year the average temperature has been about 25 degrees and it’s snowed WAY too much for my liking.

As someone who despises cold weather, snow, and every other weather-related gem that comes along with winter, I do my best to go outside as little as possible. Seriously, I’m ridiculous about it. When I have to put gas in my car I check the weather forecast for the week to find the warmest day . I also rarely leave the house without my faux fur earmuffs…

On weekdays I go to the gym in the evenings, which means I have to (*gasp*) voluntarily make an extra trip out in the hot mess of winter — something I never want to do. When it’s inhumanely cold outside, it get’s to be a real challenge to force myself not to break my workout plans and hermit it up in my sauna of a house. Sometimes I seriously have to shame or bribe myself to retreat back into the arctic Pittsburgh weather. So not kidding!

Winter Workout Motivation

Having trouble keeping your winter workout plans? Try these tactics of bribe and shame to rouse yourself from under that pile of warm blankets and out the door to exercise:

  • Feeling SO GOOD about yourself when you’re done! I swear, the most satisfying workouts are those you have to force yourself to do.
  • Making yourself healthier.
  • Because swimsuit season is right around the corner.
  • Other people will make it to the gym tonight, so why can’t you?
  • You won’t feel as bad about yourself if you eat ice cream later on in the evening.
  • Avoiding that awful moment when you realize your pants don’t fit.
  • Bragging rights.
  • Dodging that feeling of remorse when you realize you’ve both skipped your workout and managed to eat 1,000 extra calories while in a couch coma.

What's on your mind?

