Making Eating Well Fun By Cooking Together

18 Mar

The weather is finally getting warmer! Okay, rephrase — about a week ago we had a really nice, warm, sunny day. Right now, that one day of warm sunshine is what those of us in Pittsburgh have to hold onto in hopes that someday spring will arrive. And stick around longer than two days…

Anyways, one of my husband and I’s favorite things to do on a nice, warm day is make dinner together. It’s the little things people! This is an especially great activity for a nice lazy Sunday.

Thankfully for us, the warm sunny day that graced over Pittsburgh last week was a Sunday, so we quickly sprung into action. We headed to our favorite place in town for super cheap produce and meat — otherwise known as the Strip District. Eating well doesn’t have to cost a fortune when you shop local. Farmer’s markets are amazing! Plus, it’s also great to support local small businesses whenever you can.

Divide and Conquer
My husband always cooks the meat. This is for many reasons including the fact that I’m afraid of the grill and just genuinely bad at cooking meat. And I don’t really have a desire to improve my meat cooking skills either, as he’s more than willing to hold that honor.

On the other hand, I’m very good at following other people’s recipes for fabulously easy appetizers and side dishes made with fresh produce. So I rock that out inside, while he’s grilling outside.

Last weekend he made us some barbeque chicken and the most delicious rosemary potatoes ever. Seriously, I had no idea I married a potato-baking genius. Now I’m going to annoyingly request these everytime we cook together.

How pretty! Getting ready to go in the oven.

How pretty! Getting ready to go in the oven.

As for my culinary contributions, I made one of my favorites, Skinnytaste Baked Eggplant Sticks and a new recipe I found for balsamic carrots. I got this recipe from Simply Divine, a book by Real Housewife of Beverly Hills, Lisa Vanderpump, and just made it a bit healthier.

Mmm delicious!

Mmm delicious!

Love this book!

Love this book!

So there you’ll have it, eating well doesn’t have to break the bank. You can even do it at home. And it can entertain you and your husband for hours. What’s not to love?

What's on your mind?

